A Short History of Western Philosophy

By Johannes Hirschberger and Clare Hay (editor)

An expanded edition of the classic introduction to the development of Western Philosophy, from the Ancient Greeks to the 20th century.

ISBN: 9780718830922


First published in English in 1976, Hirschberger’s A Short History of Western Philosophy is a condensed history of philosophy from the Pre-Socratics through to the 1960s.

This new edition follows the division of the original text into four parts: Ancient Philosophy, Medieval Philosophy, Modern Philosophy (17th and 18th century), and 19th and 20th century Philosophy. The new version contains a new preface and introduction, and a new fifth part on Analytical Philosophy in the 19th and 20th century period by the editor Clare Hay.

Hirschberger writes from a moral/theological perspective and dismisses Analytical Philosophy as failing to cast light on the human condition.

Clare Hay helps the reader to further analyse Hirschberger’s writings and highlights the importance of Analytical Philosophy as the starting point for the development of computing and artificial intelligence. Artificial Intelligence has opened new lines of thought and raised new moral questions still to be discussed in this so-called non-ideological age.

Additional information

Dimensions 234 × 156 mm
Pages 250

Trade Information LPOD

About the Author

Johannes Hirschberger was born in May 1900 in Oesterberg, Middle Franconia, Germany. He dedicated his life to the teaching of Philosophy and Theology at the University of Frankfurt.

Dr Clare Hay has an interest in the Philosophy of Logic and Language, the History of Modern Philosophy and the History and Philosophy of Science. She is currently writing a series of books on the Theory of Knowledge to be published by The Lutterworth Press.


Preface 1976, 2008

Part I: The Philosophy of Antiquity
1. The Pre-Socratics
2. Attic Philosophy
3. The Philosophy of Hellenism

Part II. The Philosophy of the Middle Ages
4. Patristic Philosophy
5. Scholastic Philosophy

Part III: The Philosophy of Modern Times
6. The Renaissance
7. The 17th and 18th Centuries
8. Kant and German Idealism

Part IV: The Philosophy of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries
9. From the 19th to the 20th Century
10. Twentieth Century Philosophy

Part V: Logical/Analytical Philosophy
11. Frege’s Revolution in Logic
12. Russell; Never Glad Confident Morning Again
13. Wittgenstein’s Tractatus
14. Logical Empiricism
15. Meaning as Use
16. Quine and Davidson
17. Kripke and the New Essentialism
18. Moral Philosophy in the 20th Century